Temptation

Well the alarm went off at 4:30 a.m. this morning.  As I mentioned, I was going to try to get some cardio in before work.  I dragged my butt out of bead, made a half-scoop of Shakeology shake and headed to the gym.  Honestly, it was not as hard as I thought.  Thankfully I was able to get to bed by 9:30 p.m. last night so that helped. I did 25 minutes of interval training on the stationary bike.  The time went by pretty fast, and I’m feeling pretty good.  I think I may shoot for this every morning. Yikes!  We shall see. 🙂

When I got to work, there was a box of fresh baked doughnuts sitting on the table directly to my left. The smell was hitting me in the face all morning long.  Why is it that this table of doom sits so close to me?  It started as the “bagel table” which holds the two dozen bagels that come in every Friday morning.  Now it has sort of become the all around treat table.  I can’t tell you how many days that table is filled with cookies, candies, cakes, etc. It is fun, but for those of us on special diets, it is torture.

I always have to stop and think, yes, I could give in right now.  But… that will void all of the hard work I’ve put in with strict eating, training and bootcamp. I want to reap the reward of those workouts and not be defeated by a moment of tastebud pleasure.

You know it’s so easy to be aware of “food temptations” but so much harder to see the spiritual temptations all around us.  We think we are good, walking with the Lord, following our “spiritual diet,” yet we can easily miss all the junk that we take in daily; junk that is robbing us from the reward of a disciplined life for Christ.

It is easy for me to see that box of doughnuts and say, there lies my temptation.  I will choose walk away.  But how much harder is it to turn down that song on the radio, commercial on TV, movie in the theater, or thought in the head? We do not see the immediate harm, or feel the belly ache, or watch the numbers on the scale shoot up.  Therefore, we justify that those things are not “ruining our diet” or harming us internally.

Just as with dieting, fat loss is about calories in versus calories out.  To loose weight you must burn more than you put in.  Spiritually, what we put into our hearts and minds is what is going to come out of us. 

 “For out of the heart come evil thoughts, murder, adultery, sexual immorality, theft, false testimony, slander.” Matthew 15:19

As Christians, we need to be more aware of what we are taking in that is polluting our diet, poisoning our efforts and dragging us down.

As I venture on this journey of fitness, clean eating, and health, I want to be sure that the inside of my cup is as clean as the out.  What good would it be if I looked like Jillian Michaels, but my blood pressure was high, I was full of cholesterol and on the verge of a heart attack?  As it is spiritually; what does it profit me if I appear to be pure and “look” the part of follower of Christ, but my heart is black and my thoughts are dark, and my spiritual veins are clogged with life threatening junk? No good.  Absolutely NONE!

Something to meditate on…

“Above all else, guard your heart, for it is the wellspring of life.” Proverbs 4:23

6 thoughts on “Temptation

  1. I think you love coffee just as much as I do. Check out my healthy food blog, you’ll love the banana bread recipe! sweetlifegonehealthy.wordpress.com/

  2. You have it soooo right in this blog post. When you wrote: “I want to reap the reward of those workouts” I kept reading because I totally get what you mean by this. Thinking of that reward helps you stay away from temptation. Glad I kept reading . . . because I have often thought of the Christian life in the same way: what are we putting into our “spirit diet” that is no good for us. You wrote: As Christians, we need to be more aware of what we are taking in that is polluting our diet, poisoning our efforts and dragging us down. SO TRUE SO TRUE!
    Love this post!!

  3. Pingback: Coconut Oil – The Wonder Oil! | Coffee House Hopper

  4. Pingback: Chocolate Protein Bars (CAKE) | Coffee House Hopper

Leave a Reply

