Going Green

In honor of St. Patrick’s Day, I’ve decided to go green… with SPINACH that is! 😉

This morning I got up at 5:00 a.m.  Figures, I never can sleep in, even on weekends my body wakes up early.  It doesn’t matter what time I go to bed, it wakes me up the usual weekday time. Ugh.  I decided to make the best of it, so thought I’d go get some cardio in this morning before bootcamp.  I needed some extra energy so I made my FAVORITE shake! 

I absolutely love Shakeology; the chocolate version! 🙂 For my morning shakes, I use:

  • half scoop Shakeology
  • half cup of almond milk
  • hand full of spinach
  • about 5 ice cubes
  • water

Ta da! You have a delicious green, healthy shake!

Cardio

I went to the fitness center and did 35 mins of elliptical.  It felt good to “sweat it out” this morning!  I’m hoping I can sweat out my sick germs.  Ya think??  So 5.85 miles, and 350 burned calories later… I was hungry for something substantial.  I turned to my “go to” protein pancake recipe.  This recipe is also SUPER easy.  And this morning, I added a ‘green twist.’  That’s right… you guessed it, Spinach!!

Breakfast

Green Protein Pancakes:

  • 1/3 cup gluten-free oats
  • 1/3 cup cottage cheese
  • 4 egg whites
  • 1/8 tsp vanilla extract
  • cinnamon
  • handful of spinach

Throw all the ingredients in a blender, and blend on medium.  Pour in your skillet and you are good to go.  This recipe makes 4-5 pancakes.

Great way to start a beautiful, St. Patty’s Day morning!  What could make it any better?

COFFEE

Had to come to Starbucks of course. What is a Saturday morning without the usual trip to the coffee shop! 😉

Now, to get some reading in before bootcamp!

Enjoy your Saturday!

Questions of the morning:

Do you actually care about St. Patrick’s Day, and if you do… what are you doing to celebrate?

What is your favorite spinach recipe?

 

 

5 thoughts on “Going Green

  1. I like st. patricks day since I get to wear all the green I want. 🙂
    But I don’t really know who St. Patrick is. Anyhoo, today I’m going on a real date with my husband, so I guess we will celebrate our love on this st. patricks day.
    🙂

  2. I’m going to have to try those pancakes as the recipe sounded pretty good.
    As for my St. Patrick’s breakfast I made an egg white omelete with spinach. Until I read your post I didn’t even realize that I was celebrating the holiday by Going Green. Ha!

  3. Pingback: Passover Seder | Coffee House Hopper

Leave a Reply

