Passover Seder

How was your weekend?

Mine was great. It was very busy, and flew by super fast. I am looking forward to the short work week! 🙂

Morning

This morning I woke up around 4 a.m., prior to my alarm going off. I felt wiped, so not sure why I woke up so early. I laid there and debated getting out of bed to go to the fitness center or just chilling in bed for the next hour. Finally, I decided I better get up and go get some cardio in since I will be missing boot camp tonight.

I got out of bed a little later then I normally like when I’m going to work out before work (it was just so comfy and cozy this morning), so I had to book it pretty fast to the fittnes center in order to have time to get a full 30 minutes in.

I jumped on the elliptical, set the time and level (level 3), and got to moving. I’ve found that watching the morning news while working out actually makes the time go by a little faster than listening to music. Before I knew it, it was time to head back and eat some breakfast.

I had my overnight oats waiting for me (Yay! – love them) and just had to whip up my Shakeology & Spinach smoothie. Both things hit the spot this morning!

Seder

Last night was a wonderful experience; I attended a Jewish Seder dinner that my church had hosted. It was such a great way to begin the “Holy Week” leading up to Easter Sunday.

We were able to partake in the ritual feast which marks the beginning of the Jewish holiday of Passover.

Matzah ("the poor person's bread")

Maror (bitter herbs which symbolize the bitterness of slavery)

Hillel Sandwich (matzah & maror)

The sandwich consisted of matzah and bitter herbs (maror). Matzah is the thin bread that represents the freedom the Israelites have been granted, as opposed to being slaves of Pharaoh in Egypt. Inside the two pieces of matzah is the bitter herbs, symbolizing life’s hardships.

The Seder is based on the Biblical verse which commands Jews to retell the story of the Exodus from Egypt: “You shall tell your child on that day, saying, ‘It is because of what the LORD did for me when I came out of Egypt.’” (Exodus 13:8)

We were reminded of God’s faithfulness, and His plan for salvation.

Not only did He save the Israelites by the blood of a lamb during Passover (the blood on the doorposts of their home caused the death angel to “pass over”), He has provided the blood of a lamb, The Messiah, to save all who believe from their sin and death, offering eternal life to both Jews and Gentiles alike.

“I am not ashamed of the gospel, because it is the power of God for the salvation of everyone who believes: first for the Jew, then for the Gentile.” Romans 1:16

2 thoughts on “Passover Seder

    • I’ve attended a Seder twice in my life, the first one I was so young I don’t remember much. It is truly amazing how God ties everything together from the old testament and Jewish traditions to reflect the Messiah and the salvation He provided.

Leave a Reply

